Catholic Life of the School | Collective Worship | Sacraments, Holy Days of Obligation & other Significant Days

Sacraments, Holy Days of Obligation & other Significant Days


Sacraments are sacred rituals that are central to our Catholic faith. They are visible signs of God’s grace and confer spiritual blessings upon those who receive them. Pupils are taught about the seven sacraments.

1. Baptism: The sacrament of initiation through which a person becomes a member of the Church and is cleansed of original sin.

2. Eucharist: Also known as Holy Communion or the Lord’s Supper, it is the sacrament in which Catholics receive the body and blood of Jesus Christ.

3. Confirmation: The sacrament in which baptised individuals receive the gifts of the Holy Spirit and are strengthened in their faith.

4. Reconciliation: Also known as Confession or Penance, it is the sacrament through which Catholics seek forgiveness for their sins and reconcile with God and the Church.

5. Anointing of the Sick: The sacrament administered to those who are seriously ill or facing surgery, providing spiritual healing, strength and comfort.

6. Holy Orders: The sacrament through which men are ordained as deacons, priests, or bishops to serve the Church and its members.

7. Matrimony: The sacrament of marriage in which a man and a woman enter into a lifelong covenant of love and commitment.

Holy Days of Obligation & Other Significant Days

In addition to the sacraments, we observe various holy days and significant days throughout the liturgical year. Some examples include:

1. Advent & Christmas: Preparing and celebrating the birth of Jesus Christ on December 25th.

2. Lent & Easter: Preparing and commemorating the resurrection of Jesus Christ, usually observed with a series of liturgical celebrations during Holy Week.

Nursery learnt about the events of Holy Week.

Year 6 led a Lent Service.

3. Ash Wednesday: The beginning of the season of Lent, marked by the imposition of ashes on the forehead as a sign of repentance and reflection.

4. All Saints’ Day: Honouring all the saints, known and unknown, on November 1st.

5. Sacred Heart Feast day: Sacred Heart is our school name, and we celebrate the Sacred Heart of Jesus feast day with special prayers, a Mass in church and a whole school picnic which parents are invited to.

6. High Holy Feast Days: Listed in the Masses and Celebration link below.

7. Class Saints Feast Day are celebrated.

These sacraments and significant days hold great importance in the spiritual life of our school, providing opportunities for worship, reflection and the deepening of faith